School Committee

The Portsmouth School Department is composed of seven members elected to alternating four-year terms.  Elections are held in November, every two years.  After each election, the School Committee chooses its officers for the next two years.

The School Committee is responsible for ensuring a high-quality education for the students of the district.  This is accomplished by developing effective policies; approving expenditures and planning for financial stability; adopting new initiatives aimed at moving the district forward; representing the voice of the community served, and holding the Superintendent and the Administration accountable for the implementation of policies and programs. 

Currently, the School Committee has the following subcommittees: Capital Planning, Equity, Finance, Health and Wellness, District Building, Safety, Negotiations, Policies, Strategic Plan, and Technology.  The School Committee Chair has the responsibility for appointing members to the subcommittees. 

The School Committee meets on the second and fourth Tuesdays of the month at the Portsmouth Town Hall, unless otherwise stated on the meeting schedule